Meadowlark : A Graphic Novel

Meadowlark : A Graphic Novel
ISBN: 9781538714577
Publication Date: 26 October 2021

From the dream team behind #1 New York Times bestseller Indeh, Oscar-nominated actor and writer Ethan Hawke and New York Times bestselling author and illustrator Greg Ruth, comes a new graphic novel following a father and son as they navigate an increasingly catastrophic day.

Set against the quiet and unassuming city of Huntsville, Texas, Jack "Meadowlark" Johnson, and his teenage son, Cooper embark on a journey of epic proportions. Told over the course a single day, this electrifying graphic novel recounts Cooper's struggle to survive the increasingly catastrophic consequences of his father's mistakes and the dangers they have brought home to his estranged family. As Cooper and his father desperately navigate cascading threats of violence, they must also grapple with their own combative, dysfunctional, but loving relationship.

Drawing on inspiration from the authors' childhoods in Texas, their relationships with their own sons and from ancient myths that resonate throughout the ages, this contemporary crime noir is a propulsive coming-of-age tale of the shattering transition into manhood. While both father and son strive to understand their place in the world and each other's lives, tension and resentment threaten to boil over. As emotionally evocative as it is visually stunning, this captivating graphic novel will appeal to fans of Cormac McCarthy's No Country for Old Men and Terrence Malick's Badlands.

About the Authors

Ethan Hawke's first graphic novel with illustrator Greg Ruth, Indeh, debuted at #1 on the New York Times' bestsellers list in 2016. His other literary works include New York Times bestsellers Rules for a Knight, Ash Wednesday, and The Hottest State. He has also acted in over 50 fi...

Meadowlark : A Graphic Novel

 
$35.03

Free delivery
May exclude certain postcodes.
Discount applied at checkout.
Marketplace - Leaves warehouse in 10 business days
Free delivery
May exclude certain postcodes.
Discount applied at checkout.
Marketplace - Leaves warehouse in 10 business days
Sold and delivered by The Nile